Shep’s Place Senior Dog Sanctuary, Inc., is a 501(c)(3) non-profit charitable foundation incorporated in the State of Missouri, charter number N000705469.  We operate out of a renovated old house in Independence.  We opened for business in April, 2019.

Mission Statement

The goal of Shep’s Place Senior Dog Sanctuary Inc. is to operate a sanctuary for homeless senior dogs in the Kansas City area.  We believe senior dogs deserve to live out their lives in a safe, loving environment.  Our facility and volunteers are dedicated to caring for these dogs, to give them the support and attention they have lost.  We will try to find new families for them, but if we can’t, we will be their family and home, for as long as they live.

Board of Directors

Shep’s Place is overseen by a Board of Directors, which currently has four members.

Dr. Russell Clothier

President and General Manager

russell@shepsplace.org

Russell has a PhD in experimental quantum Physics, which, it turns out, has surprisingly little to do with running an animal shelter.  He has taught Physics at the college and high school level for 30 years.  Raised a cat person, he is a convert to the dog world, and is trying to make up for lost time by starting Shep’s Place.

Lisa Seigle Burke

Treasurer

lisa@shepsplace.org

Lisa is a CPA at CBIZ MHM with 25 years of tax experience specializing in the not-for-profit industry.

 

Susan Cole

Director, Social Media

scole@shepsplace.org

Susan is a Registered Nurse and has a degree in finance.  Her hobbies include photography and dog training, which have come in handy for Social Media. She joined Shep’s Place after the passing of her own rescue dog, Moe.

 

Trish Herbig

Volunteer Coordinator

therbig@shepsplace.org

Trish has 32 years of professional education experience, including 12 years as a teacher and 20 years as a school administrator. She has raised and loved dogs her entire life. She is now retired and thoroughly enjoying her volunteer experience time with Shep’s.

Other Staff Members

Vicky Malkus

Medical Coordinator

vmalkus@shepsplace.org

Vicky is a retired Vet Tech with over 25 years of experience.  She oversees the health of our dogs, in close cooperation with our vets at Farview Veterinary Hospital.

Jan Davis

Adoption & Foster Coordinator

jdavis@shepsplace.org

Jan oversees our Adoption and Foster programs, reviewing applications and meeting with potential adopters.

 

Vivian Verhulst

Events Coordinator

vverhulst@shepsplace.org

Vivian oversees the Events Committee, which plans and organizes our participation in public events.